Public Affairs Division

Public Affairs

The mission of the Mississippi Highway Patrol Public Affairs Division is to provide the media and general public with current information regarding press releases and safety education programs. Public Affairs Officers are available upon request to discuss numerous topics which include:

  • Impaired Driving
  • Distracted Driving
  • Seatbelt and Child Restraints
  • Motorcycle/ATV Safety
  • School Bus Safety
  • Recruiting

Several safety presentations have received recognition over the years from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and the Uniformed Safety Education Officers Workshop (USEOW). These programs are targeted at educating children, teenagers and parents and are designed to create a positive relationship between local communities and the agency.

 

PUBLIC AFFAIRS OFFICERS
 

Director of Public Affairs
Captain Criss Turnipseed

P.O. Box 958
Jackson, MS 39205
W: 601-987-1390
C: 662-418-8826

cturnipseed@dps.ms.gov

 

Assistant Director of Public Affairs
Lt. Chase Elkins

P.O. Box 958
Jackson, MS 39205
C: 228-861-7487
JElkins@dps.ms.gov


Northern Region Public Affairs Supervisor
MSGT Joey Miller

P.O. Box 958
Jackson, MS 39205
C: 662-934-0509
jwmiller@dps.ms.gov


Central Region Public Affairs Supervisor
MSGT Kervin Stewart

P.O. Box 958
Jackson, MS 39205
C: 601-624-0372
kstewart@dps.ms.gov


Southern Region Public Affairs Supervisor
VACANT


Statewide Recruiting Coordinator
MSGT Eric Henry

P.O. Box 958
Jackson, MS 39205
C: 769-572-9704
ehenry@dps.ms.gov


DISTRICT 1
Troop C
VACANT

3851 Highway 468 West
Pearl, MS 39201
Follow Troop C on Twitter


DISTRICT 2
Troop D
TFC Jose Watson
1301 Cypress Avenue 
Greenwood, MS 38930
W: 662-477-1811
C: 662-299-2353
josew@dps.ms.gov
Follow Troop D on Twitter

 

DISTRICT 3
Troop E
SGT  Marvin Baird

22000-A Highway 35 North 
Batesville, MS 38606
W: 662-563-6471  
C: 662-934-9831
MBaird@dps.ms.gov
Follow Troop E on Twitter


DISTRICT 4
Troop F
SSGT Bryan McGee

1103 Bratton Road
New Albany, MS 38652
W: 662-534-8619  
C: 662-808-3600
bmcgee@dps.ms.gov

Follow Troop F on Twitter


DISTRICT 5
Troop G
SGT Derrick Beckom
987 Highway 182 East
Starkville, MS 39759
W: 662-323-5314 ext. 72113
C: 662-251-0353 
dbeckom@dps.ms.gov
Follow Troop G on Twitter


DISTRICT 6
Troop H
SGT Jameka Moore
916 Highway 11/80 East
Meridian, MS 39301
W: 601-693-1926 ext. 72056
C: 601-934-6430 
awest@dps.ms.gov
Follow Troop H on Twitter


DISTRICT 7
Troop J

TFC Robert Shows
35 J.M. Tatum Drive 
Hattiesburg, MS 39401
W: 601-582-3529
C: 601-754-0353
RobertS@dps.ms.gov
Follow Troop J on Twitter


DISTRICT 8
Troop K
CPL Calvin Robertson
16741 Highway 67
Biloxi, MS 39532
W: 228-396-7418
C: 228-861-2360
crobertson@dps.ms.gov
Follow Troop K on Twitter


DISTRICT 9
Troop M
CPL Craig James
160 Highway 84 East
Brookhaven, MS 39601
W: 601-833-7811 ext. 72211 
C: 601-754-1210
cjames@dps.ms.gov
Follow Troop M on Twitter